Dates currently being confirmed; check back.

Call for Papers Announced 2 May
Journal-first (JIST/JPI) Submissions

∙ Submission site Opens 2 May 
∙ Journal-first (JIST/JPI) Submissions Due 1 Aug
∙ Final Journal-first manuscripts due 28 Oct
Conference Papers Submissions
∙ Abstract Submission Opens 1 June
∙ Priority Decision Submission Ends 15 July
∙ Extended Submission Ends  19 Sept
∙ FastTrack Conference Proceedings Manuscripts Due 25 Dec 
∙ All Outstanding Proceedings Manuscripts Due
 6 Feb 2023
Registration Opens 1 Dec
Demonstration Applications Due 19 Dec
Early Registration Ends 18 Dec

Hotel Reservation Deadline 6 Jan
Symposium begins
15 Jan


No content found

No content found

Symposium and Conference Awards

Each year EI bestows one Symposium award, while various conferences bestow their own best paper awards.

On this page

EI Scientist of the Year

This award is given annually at the EI Symposium to a member of the electronic imaging community who has demonstrated excellence and commanded the respect of his/her peers by making significant and substantial contributions to the field of electronic imaging via research, publications, or service. Nominate someone for the award

Recipients by year

2022 Eric R. Fossum, John H. Krehbiel Senior Professor for Emerging Technologies; Vice Provost, Office of Entrepreneurship and Technology Transfer (OETT); Director, PhD Innovation Program, Dartmouth College (US), for the invention and development of CMOS active-pixel sensors, and entrepreneurship in imaging technology. 
2021 Ramesh Raskar, Associate Professor, MIT Media Lab (USA), for his leadership of the Camera Culture research group at the MIT Media Lab and his research on AI and imaging for health and sustainability, including advances in physical (e.g., sensors, health-tech), digital (e.g., automated and privacy-aware machine learning), and global (e.g., geomaps, autonomous mobility) domains. 
2020 Katie Bouman, California Institute of Technology (USA) for pioneering contributions in the field of computational imaging that helped to produce the first image of a black hole and for serving as a great role model for a new generation of imaging scientists.
2019 Amnon Shashua, Mobileye, an Intel company  (USA) for his pivotal contributions to computer vision and machine learning, and for advancing autonomous driving and wearable assistive devices for the blind and visually-impaired.
2018 Avideh Zakhor, University of California at Berkeley  (USA) for significant contributions to signal processing, including 3D image processing & computer vision; 3D reality capture systems; 3D modeling, mapping and positioning; and image and video compression and communication.
2017 Gordon Wetzstein, Stanford University  (USA) for pioneering contributions to electronic imaging in the areas of computational light field and near-eye display technologies.
2016 Michael A. Kriss, MAK Consultants  (USA) for significant scientific contributions and leadership during the transition from analog to digital imaging, as well as tremendous service to the electronic imaging community.
2015 Edward J. Delp, Purdue University (USA) for contributions in the areas of multimedia security and image and video compression
  Majid Rabbani, Eastman Kodak Company (USA) for fundamental contributions to image compression, and for more than 25 years of sharing this knowledge through courses taught at EI.
2014 Charles A. Bouman, Purdue University (USA) for lasting contributions to document imaging and to medical imaging.
2013 Sabine Süsstrunk, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (Switzerland) for seminal contributions to color imaging, computational photography, and image analysis.
2012 Albert Theuwissen, Harvest Imaging (Belgium) for seminal contributions to the electronic imaging community in the fields of solid-state image capturing and advanced image sensors.
2011 Alan C. Bovik, University of Texas at Austin (USA) for seminal contributions to the computational aspects of biological visual perception, specifically in the areas of image and video quality.
2010 C.-C. Jay Kuo, University of Southern California (USA) for seminal contributions to signal processing theory and applications in the areas of image processing and compression, higher-order statistics, fuzzy logic and artificial neural networks.
2009 Morley M. Blouke, Ball Aerospace & Technologies Corp. (USA) for seminal contribution to the field of Electronic Imaging, specifically in the areas of image sensors, focal plane arrays, and CCD technology.
2008 James Janesick, Sarnoff Corp. (USA) for outstanding service and significant contributions to the electronic imaging community in the area of CCD and CMOs sensors.
2007 Brian A. Wandell, Stanford Univ. (USA) for pioneering contributions in the education, research, and application of imaging science. His leadership and innovation in the fields of human color vision, digital photographic systems analysis, and computational neuroimaging have motivated colleagues and students from a diverse array of imaging fields to redefine the frontiers -of imaging science and technology.
2006 Thomas S. Huang, Beckman Institute for Advanced Science and Technology, Univ. of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (USA)
2005 Justin Maki, Jet Propulsion Lab (USA)
2004 Jan P. Allebach, Purdue Univ. (USA) for his leadership as an educator and researcher in the electronic imaging community, for his contributions to image halftoning, color image processing, and the use of our understanding of the human visual system in image processing.
2003 Murat Kunt,  École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (Switzerland)
2002 Semir Zeki, Wellcome Dept. of Cognitive Neurology, Univ. College London (United Kingdom)
2001 Larry Hornbeck, Texas Instruments, Inc. (USA)
2000 Yoichi Miyake, Chiba Univ. (Japan)
1999 George Cacioppo, Adobe Systems, Inc. (USA)
1998 Leonardo Chiariglione, CSELT/Telecom Italia (Italy)

No content found