Abstract submission opens
1 June
 Early submission deadline 15 July
 Journal-first deadline
15 July
 Priority submission deadline 12 Aug
 Registration opens 1 Oct
 Manuscripts due for fast track
23 Nov

 Early registration ends 4 Jan
 Hotel reservation deadline
7 Jan
 Symposium begins
17 Jan
 All manuscripts due
8 Feb

Image Quality and System Performance XVIII

Conference keywords: image quality, system performance, human visual perception, image processing, subjective and objective quality assessment

On this page

NOTE that in recognition of the current world situation, IS&T plans to allow accepted registered authors to provide remote presentations.

Conference Overview

We live in a visual world. The perceived quality of images is of crucial importance in industrial, medical, and entertainment application environments. Developments in camera sensors, image processing, 3D imaging, display technology, and digital printing are enabling new or enhanced possibilities for creating and conveying visual content that informs or entertains. Wireless networks and mobile devices expand the ways to share imagery and autonomous vehicles bring image processing into new aspects of society.

The power of imaging rests directly on the visual quality of the images and the performance of the systems that produce them. As the images are generally intended to be viewed by humans, a deep understanding of human visual perception is key to the effective assessment of image quality.

This conference brings together engineers and scientists from industry and academia who strive to understand what makes a high-quality image, and how to specify the requirements and assess the performance of modern imaging systems. It focuses on objective and subjective methods for evaluating the perceptual quality of images, and includes applications throughout the imaging chain from image capture, through processing, to output, printed or displayed, video or still, 2D or 3D, virtual, mixed or augmented reality, LDR or HDR.

2021 Conference Topics

Image quality

  • Image quality attributes, characterization, and metrics
  • Perceptual image quality understanding
  • Test image databases with perceptual reference data
  • Image preference, saliency, scene dependency
  • Image quality survey design (print, web-based, mobile)
  • Machine learning visual quality methods (e.g., CNN)
  • No-reference and multi-modal (audio and video) metrics
  • Quality of experience for immersive media technologies (VR, AR, 360° video)
  • Task-oriented image quality evaluation (e.g., medical, imaging, automotive vision, remote sensing)

System performance

  • Imaging system simulation and modeling
  • Camera ISP tuning and quality trade-offs
  • Autonomous vehicle vision system performance
  • Image noise analysis and color error propagation
  • Gamut size, color rendering, ICC profile evaluation
  • Methods for competitive bench marking, quality assurance
  • Multi-media and cross-media system evaluations

Standards for image quality and system performance

  • Standards for image and video quality
  • Mobile, automotive, and video imaging performance
  • Measurement of print and display microstructure (edges, color, resolution, distortion, etc.)

2021 Special Sessions

Joint sessions will be developed, based on submissions, with the Autonomous Vehicles and Machines, the Human Vision and Electronic Imaging, and the Color Imaging: Displaying, Processing, Hardcopy, and Applications conferences.


Best Paper Award*
*Note that competitors for the award must submit their final full proceedings paper for consideration after abstract acceptance.

Past winners

2020 Best Paper
Oliver van Zwanenberg, Sophie Triantaphillidou, Robin Jenkin, and Alexandra Psarrou (University of Westminster) for their work on  "Camera system performance derived from natural scenes."
2019 Best Paper
Uwe Artmann (Image Engineering GmbH & Co. KG) for his work titled, "Quantify aliasing – A new approach to make resolution measurement more robust."
2019 Best Student Paper
Helard Becerra (University of Brasilia) for his work titled "Analyzing the influence of cross-modal IP-based degradations on the perceived audio-visual quality."
2018 Best Paper
Clement Viard (DxOMark Image Labs) for his work on  "Quantitative measurement of contrast, texture, color, and noise for digital photography of high dynamic range scenes."
2018 Best Student Paper
Edward Fry (University of Westminster) for his work on  "Bridging the gap between imaging performance and image quality measures."
2017 Best Paper
Seyed Ali Amirshahi, Marius Pedersen, and Stella X. Yuq (University of California, Berkeley and Norwegian University of Science and Technology) for their work titled, "Image quality assessment by comparing CNN features between images."
2017 Best Student Paper
Pedro Garcia Freitas and Welington Akamine (University of Brasilia) for their work titled, "Blind image quality assessment using multiscale local binary patterns."
2016 Best Paper
Iana Iatsun, Chaker Larabi, Christine Fernandez Maloigne (Université de Poitiers) for their work on  "Using binocular and monocular properties for the construction of a quality assessment metric for stereoscopic images."
2016 Best Student Paper
Praveen Cyriac (Universitat Pompeu Fabra) for his work on  "Optimized tone curve for in-camera image processing."

2021 Committee

Conference Chairs

Mylène C.Q. Farias, University of Brasilia (Brazil)
Mohamed-Chaker Larabi, University of Poitiers (France)

Program Committee

Nicolas Bonnier, Apple Inc. (United States)
Alan Bovik, University of Texas at Austin (United States)
Peter Burns, Burns Digital Imaging (United States)
Anustup Choudhury, Dolby Laboratories (United States)
Brian Cooper, Lexmark International, Inc. (United States)
Luke Cui, Amazon (United States)
Susan Farnand, Rochester Institute of Technology (United States)
Frans Gaykema, Canon Production Printing Netherlands (Netherlands)
Jukka Häkkinen, University of Helsinki (Finland)
Dirk Hertel, E Ink Corporation (United States)
Robin Jenkin, NVIDIA Corporation (United States)
Elaine Jin, Intuitive Surgical (United States)
Göte Nyman, University of Helsinki (Finland)
Stuart Perry, University of Technology Sydney (Australia)
Jonathan Phillips, Google Inc. (United States)
Sophie Triantaphillidou, University of Westminster (United Kingdom)

No content found

No content found

No content found