EI2018 Banner

  28 January - 1 February, 2018 • Burlingame, California USA

Call for Papers

Visualization and Data Analysis 2018

Conference Keywords:  Visual and Data Analytics, Visualization, Human Factors, Data Mining, Virtual and Augmented Reality, Cyber-security

Visualization researchers and practitioners from around the world present their work and share their experience every year. See Overview and Topics tabs for details on technical content and solicited topics.


  • Kostas Pantazos Memorial Award for Outstanding Paper

Ways to Submit

There are three options for submission; please read the descriptions carefully.

  1. Presentation at the conference and publication in the conference proceedings. This is the most common option, and if accepted may be assigned either an oral or interactive (poster) presentation. For review, submit a 6-12 page full paper draft proceedings manuscript with optional figures using the symposium template  
  2. Presentation-only. Oral presentation at the conference, but no publication of work in the conference proceedings. Submit a 500- to 1000-word abstract. This option allows for “late-breaking” news/results.  
  3. JIST-first. Expedited review and publication in the Journal of Imaging Science and Technology (JIST) before the conference, oral presentation at the conference, and inclusion in the conference proceedings. To meet the publication timeline, successful JIST-first submissions must require only minor revisions in response to peer-review. Those not meeting this stringent standard are automatically re-considered for presentation at the conference and publication in the proceedings (option 1 above). Author instructions for journal submissions  

Final Manuscript Deadline

The final manuscript is due 20 November 2017 for onsite proceedings.

No content found

No content found

No content found

Important Dates
Call for Papers Announced 1 Mar 2017
Review Abstracts Due (refer to For Authors page)
· Regular Submission Ends 15 Aug 2017
· Late Submission Ends  31 Aug 2017
Registration Opens
2 Oct 2017
Hotel Reservation Deadline
5 Jan 2018
Early Registration Ends 8 Jan 2018
Conference Starts 28 Jan 2018 

View 2017 Proceedings
View 2016 Proceedings
Conference Chairs
Thomas Wischgoll, Wright State University (United States); Song Zhang, Mississippi State University (United States); David Kao, NASA Ames Research Center (United States); Yi-Jen Chiang, New York University (United States)

Program Committee
Madjid Allili, Bishop's University (Canada); Abon Chaudhuri, WalmartLabs (United States); Guoning Chen, University of Houston (United States); Joseph Cottam, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory (United States); Sussan Einakian, California Polytechnic State University (United States); John Gerth, Stanford University (United States); Matti Gröhn, Finnish Institute of Occupational Health (Finland); Christopher G. Healey, North Carolina State University (United States); Mario Hlawitschka, University of Leipzig (Germany); Ming Jiang, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (United States); Alark Joshi, University of San Francisco (United States); Andreas Kerren, Linnaeus University (Sweden); Peter Lindstrom, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (United States); Lars Linsen, Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster (Germany); Zhanping Liu, Old Dominion University (United States); Aidong Lu, University of North Carolina at Charlotte (United States); G. Elisabeta Marai, University of Illinois at Chicago (United States); Donald Pellegrino, The Dow Chemical Co. (United States); Theresa-Marie Rhyne, Computer Graphics and E-Learning (United States); René Rosenbaum, meeCoda (Germany); Jibonananda Sanyal, Oak Ridge National Laboratory (United States); Pinaki Sarder, University of Buffalo (United States); Graig Sauer, Towson University (United States); Inga Scheler, Technische University Kaiserslautern (Germany); Tobias Schreck, Graz University of Technology (Austria); Jürgen Schulze, University of California, San Diego (United States); Chad Steed, Oak Ridge National Laboratory (United States); Kalpathi Subramanian, University of North Carolina at Charlotte (United States); Shigeo Takahashi, University of Aizu (Japan); Chaoli Wang, Michigan Technological University (United States); Tino Weinkauf, Royal Institute of Technology (Sweden); Leishi Zhang, Middlesex University London (United Kingdom)