EI2018 Banner

  28 January - 1 February, 2018 • Burlingame, California USA

Call for Papers

Human Vision and Electronic Imaging 2018

Conference Keywords:  Fundamental vision, perception, cognition research; Perceptual approaches to image quality; Visual and cognitive issues in imaging and analysis; Art, aesthetics, and emotion; Vision, audition, haptics, multisensory

IS&T is proud to announce the launch of the Journal of Perceptual Imaging (JPI), the Journal of the HVEI Community!
Peer-reviewed  •  Open Access  •  Community-driven
Publishing research in perception and cognition that supports, or is inspired by, imaging technologies and applications
influenced by research in human perception, cognition, neuroscience
Offering a JPI-first option: Submit your EI paper to JPI and if your paper is accepted, you will be accepted to present your paper at HVEI and pay a reduced registration fee. JPI-first deadline: October 1, 2017

See Overview and Topics tabs for details on technical content and solicited topics.


  • Best Student Paper Award

Celebratory Events Marking the 30th Anniversary of HVEI

Monday evening HVEI Banquet and Talk (details available closer to the event).
Museum excursion to SFMOMA, to explore the interplay between human perception, cognition and art.

Ways to Submit

There are two options for submission; please read the descriptions carefully. Note: This conference DOES NOT accept submissions designated for presentation-only. 

  1. Presentation at the conference and publication in the conference proceedings. This is the most common option, and if accepted may be assigned either an oral or interactive (poster) presentation. Submit a 4-6 page draft proceedings paper with optional figures using the symposium template  
  2. JIST-first. Expedited review and publication in the Journal of Imaging Science and Technology (JIST) before the conference, oral presentation at the conference, and inclusion in the conference proceedings. To meet the publication timeline, successful JIST-first submissions must require only minor revisions in response to peer-review. Those not meeting this stringent standard are automatically re-considered for presentation at the conference and publication in the proceedings (option 1 above). Author instructions for journal submissions  

Final Manuscript Deadline

The final manuscript is due 10 January 2018. The proceedings will be published after the conference.

No content found

No content found

No content found

Important Dates
Call for Papers Announced 1 Mar 2017
Review Abstracts Due (refer to For Authors page)
· Regular Submission Ends 15 Aug 2017
· Late Submission Ends  31 Aug 2017
Registration Opens
2 Oct 2017
Hotel Reservation Deadline
5 Jan 2018
Early Registration Ends 8 Jan 2018
Conference Starts 28 Jan 2018 

View 2017 Proceedings
View 2016 Proceedings
Conference Chairs
Bernice Rogowitz, Visual Perspectives (United States); Thrasyvoulos Pappas, Northwestern University (United States); Huib de Ridder, Technische Universiteit Delft (Netherlands)

Program Committee
Albert Ahumada, NASA Ames Research Center (United States); Jan Allebach, Purdue University (United States); Erhardt Barth, Universität zu Lübeck (Germany); Walter Bender, Sugar Labs (United States); Michael Brill, Datacolor (United States); Kjell Brunnström, Acreo AB (Sweden); Claus-Christian Carbon, University of Bamberg (Germany); Damon Chandler, Shizuoka University (Japan); Scott Daly, Dolby Laboratories, Inc. (United States); Ulrich Engelke, Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (Australia); Elena Fedorovskaya, Rochester Institute of Technology (United States); James Ferwerda, Rochester Institute of Technology (United States); Jennifer Gille, Qualcomm Technologies Inc. (United States); Sergio Goma, Qualcomm Technologies Inc. (United States); Hari Kalva, Florida Atlantic University (United States); Stanley Klein, University of California, Berkeley (United States); Patrick Le Callet, Université de Nantes (France); Lora Likova, The Smith-Kettlewell Eye Research Institute (United States); Mónica López-González, La Petite Noiseuse Productions (United States); Mark McCourt, North Dakota State University (United States); Laura McNamara, Sandia National Laboratories (United States); Jeffrey Mulligan, NASA Ames Research Center (United States); Karol Myszkowski, Max-Planck-Institut für Informatik (Germany); Adar Pelah, University of York (United Kingdom); Eliezer Peli, Schepens Eye Research Institute (United States); Sylvia Pont, Technische Universiteit Delft (Netherlands); Judith Redi, Technische Universiteit Delft (Netherlands); Hawley Rising, Consultant (United States); Sabine Süsstrunk, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (Switzerland); Christopher Tyler, Smith-Kettlewell Eye Research Institute (United States); Andrew Watson, NASA Ames Research Center (United States); Michael Webster, University of Nevada, Reno (United States)