Image Engineering Innovation Award

Basis of Selection

The Image Engineering Innovation Award, sponsored by Image Engineering of Frechen, Germany, was first established in 2012. The award recognizes breakthrough innovations in digital imaging with an emphasis on, but not exclusive to, image capture devices.


Individuals, worldwide, who have made substantial contributions in the areas described. If the awards committee recommends, the award may be shared by partners or a small team of individuals or even split between a maximum of 3 independent inventions/inventors. Both inventors and inventions/technical innovations may be nominated. If the inventor(s) is not named within the nomination, the award subcommittee will determine the inventor(s) to be cited. The citation on the award shall mention the names of the inventor(s) as well as the technology for which the award is being given. Both members and non-members are eligible.

Frequency of Award

Not more than one per year.

Form of Award

An engraved award in the shape of a camera and a cash stipend of $1,000, both provided by Image Engineering, are given to recipients of this award.

Past Recipients

2016 Andreas Velten
2015 Javier Garcia-Montreal
Alex Kipman
Alexander Shpunt
Zeev Zalevsky
2014 Takashi Aoki
Yoichi Iwasaki
Masahiro Suzuki
2013 Ren Ng
Christian Perwass
Lennart Wietzke