HP Image Permanence Award

Basis of Selection

Established in 2006 and discontinued with the 2013 award, the HP Image Permanence Award recognized advances in colorant and print media materials that significantly increased permanence; advances in predictive science that increased the validity of permanence predictions or provided insight into optimal storage and usage conditions; and/or educational efforts that raised awareness of the effect of storage and usage conditions on permanence. The awardee was selected by a subcommittee comprised of three IS&T appointees and one appointee from the International Institute for Conservation of Historic and Artistic Works (IIC).


Individuals or a small team of individuals, worldwide, who have made contributions in the areas described.

Frequency of Award:

Not more than one per year.

Form of Award

A clock with engraved plaque and $10,000 cash prize, both provided by Hewlett-Packard Company, are given to recipients of this award.

Past Recipients

2013 Yoshihiko Shibahara
2012 Alan Hodgson
2011 Nora Kennedy
2010 Martin Jürgens
2009 Steven Puglia
2008 Rita Hofmann-Sievert
2007 James M. Reilly

Printing for Fabrication

September 29 - October 2, 2019
San Francisco, California

CIC27 2019
October 21 - October 25, 2019

Paris, France

Electronic Imaging 2020
January 26-January 30, 2020
SFO Hyatt Regency Burlingame
Burlingame, California