Abstract submission opens
1 June
 Registration opens Coming Soon
 Final submission deadline 7 Oct
 Manuscripts due for FastTrack
23 Nov

 Early registration ends 4 Jan
 Short Courses begin
11 Jan
 Symposium begins
18 Jan
 All manuscripts due
8 Feb

Visualization and Data Analysis 2021

Conference keywords: visual and data analytics, visualization, human factors, data mining, virtual and augmented reality (VR/AR), cyber-security.

On this page

ATTENTION: We're pleased to announce that EI 2021 will be fully online! We recognize that one of the most important features of attending EI is interacting with colleagues from Industry and Academia. We are committed to making community connection a priority and to providing ample opportunities to meet and discuss personally with others. We see the move to an online platform as an opportunity for greater numbers of people to join from around the world. Join us on this exciting adventure . . . submit your work today!

Conference Overview

The Conference on Visualization and Data Analysis (VDA) 2021 covers all research, development, and application aspects of data visualization and visual analytics. Since the first VDA conference was held in 1994, the annual event has grown steadily into a major venue for visualization researchers and practitioners from around the world to present their work and share their experiences. We invite you to participate by submitting your original research as a full paper, for an oral or interactive (poster) presentation, and attending VDA 2021.

2021 Conference Topics

The VDA conference solicits papers on all topics of data visualization, including, but not limited to:
  • Biomedical visualization
  • Case studies and empirical studies
  • Cyber-security
  • Data mining
  • Exploratory data visualization and analysis
  • Geographic visualization
  • Graph visualization
  • High-performance computing and visualization
  • Image processing
  • Information visualization
  • Multivariate time series visualization
  • Scientific visualization
  • Sentiment analysis
  • Social media
  • Virtual and augmented reality
  • Human factors
  • Volume and flow visualization

2021 Special Sessions

For Visualization and Data Analysis 2021, submissions are particularly encouraged for the planned session to explore discrepancies between visualization tools and application domain perspectives.

ViDE: Visualization for Domain Experts

Session Organizing Chairs:
Christina Gillmann, TU Kaiserslautern (Germany)
Michael Krone, Eberhard Karls University of Tübingen (Germany)
Guido Reina, University of Stuttgart (Germany)
Thomas Wischgoll, Wright State University (Germany)

Many visualization software packages and toolkits have been developed over the years providing direct access to a multitude of different visualization approaches. However, applying those directly to an application domain can still be challenging, as these toolkits often still require considerable expertise in the visualization domain. Also, many of these packages may still be in a prototype state and thus not fully ready for a production environment. This special session is designed to discuss the needs for applicability in different application domains. Specifically, discrepancies between visualization tools and these needs from an application domain perspective will be explored. This session will build on previous workshops, such as VisGap and ShonanMeeting 145, summarized and elaborated in "The moving target of visualization software for an increasingly complex world" paper.


Kostas Pantazos Memorial Award for Outstanding Paper in Visualization and Data Analysis

Past winners

2020 Casey Haber and Robert Gove (Chartio and Two Six Labs ) for their work on  "A visualization tool for analyzing the suitability of software libraries via their code repositories."
2019 Maggie Goulden, Eric Gronda, Yurou Yang, Zihang Zhang, Jun Tao, Chaoli Wang, Xiaojing Duan, G. Alex Ambrose, Kevein Abbott, and Patrick Miller (Trinity College Dublin, University of Maryland, Zhejiang University, and University of Notre Dame) for their work titled "CCVis: Visual analytics of student online learning behaviors using course clickstream data."
2018 Benjamin Karer, Inga Scheler, and Hans Hagen (University of Kaiserslautern) for their work on  "A step towards automatic visual analytics pipeline generation."
2017 Stefan Zellmann, Mauritius Hoevels, and Ulrich Lang (University of Cologne and University Hospital of Cologne) for their work titled "Ray traced volume clipping using multi-hit BVH traversal."
2016 Kaiyu Zhao, Matthew Ward, Elke Rundensteiner, and Huong Higgins (Worcester Polytechnic Institute) for their work on "MaVis: Machine learning aided multi-model framework for time series visual analytics."
2016 Best Paper
Kostas Pantazos and Soren Lauesen (IT University of Copenhagen) for their work on "End-user development in visualizations." Award accepted by Dimitris Pantazos.

2021 Committee

Conference Chairs

Thomas Wischgoll, Wright State University (United States)
David Kao, NASA Ames Research Center (United States)
Yi-Jen Chiang, New York University (United States)

Program Committee

Madjid Allili, Bishop's University (Canada)
Wes Bethel, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (United States)
Abon Chaudhuri, Intel Corporation (United States)
Guoning Chen, University of Houston (United States)
Jaegul Choo, Georgia Institute of Technology (United States)
Ulrich Engelke, CSIRO (Australia)
Christoph Garth, Technische Universität Kaiserslautern (Germany)
Christina Gillman, University of Leipzig (Germany)
Matti Gröhn, Finnish Institute of Occupational Health (Finland)
Ming Hao, conDati (United States)
Christopher G. Healey, North Carolina State University (United States)
Mario Hlawitschka, University of Leipzig (Germany)
Ming Jiang, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (United States)
Andreas Kerren, Linnaeus University (Sweden)
Harinarayan Krishnan, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (United States)
Robert Lewis, Washington State University (United States)
Peter Lindstrom, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (United States)
Zhanping Liu, Old Dominion University (United States)
Aidong Lu, The University of North Carolina at Charlotte (United States)
G. Elisabeta Marai, University of Illinois at Chicago (United States)
Alex Pang, University of California, Santa Cruz (United States)
Theresa-Marie Rhyne, Computer Graphics and E-Learning (United States)
René Rosenbaum, meeCoda (Germany)
Inga Scheler, Technische Universität Kaiserslautern (Germany)
Tobias Schreck, University of Konstanz (Germany)
Jürgen Schulze, University of California, San Diego (United States)
Kalpathi Subramanian, The University of North Carolina at Charlotte (United States)
Shigeo Takahashi, The University of Aizu (Japan)
Shyh-Kuang Ueng, National Taiwan Ocean University (Taiwan)
Chaoli Wang, University of Notre Dame (United States)
Eugene Zhang, Oregon State (United States)
Leishi Zhang, Middlesex University London (United Kingdom)
Wenjin Zhou, Oakland University (United States)

No content found

No content found

No content found