Dates currently being confirmed; check back.

Call for Papers Announced 2 May
Journal-first (JIST/JPI) Submissions

∙ Submission site Opens 2 May 
∙ Journal-first (JIST/JPI) Submissions Due 1 Aug
∙ Final Journal-first manuscripts due 28 Oct
Conference Papers Submissions
∙ Abstract Submission Opens 1 June
∙ Priority Decision Submission Ends 15 July
∙ Extended Submission Ends  19 Sept
∙ FastTrack Conference Proceedings Manuscripts Due 16 Dec 
∙ All Outstanding Proceedings Manuscripts Due
 6 Feb 2023
Registration Opens late summer
Demonstration Applications Due 9 Dec
Early Registration Ends 18 Dec

Hotel Reservation Deadline 6 Jan
Symposium begins
15 Jan

Visualization and Data Analysis 2023

Conference keywords: visual and data analytics, visualization, human factors, data mining, virtual and augmented reality (VR/AR), cyber-security.

On this page

ATTENTION: EI 2023 will occur IN-PERSON. 

Conference Overview

The Conference on Visualization and Data Analysis (VDA) 2022 covers all research, development, and application aspects of data visualization and visual analytics. Since the first VDA conference was held in 1994, the annual event has grown steadily into a major venue for visualization researchers and practitioners from around the world to present their work and share their experiences. We invite you to participate by submitting your original research as a full paper, for an oral or interactive (poster) presentation, and attending VDA 2023.

2023 Conference Topics

The VDA conference solicits papers on all topics of data visualization, including, but not limited to:
  • Biomedical visualization
  • Case studies and empirical studies
  • Cyber-security
  • Data mining
  • Exploratory data visualization and analysis
  • Geographic visualization
  • Graph visualization
  • High-performance computing and visualization
  • Image processing
  • Information visualization
  • Multivariate time series visualization
  • Scientific visualization
  • Sentiment analysis
  • Social media
  • Virtual and augmented reality
  • Human factors
  • Volume and flow visualization

2023 Special Sessions



Kostas Pantazos Memorial Award for Outstanding Paper in Visualization and Data Analysis

Past winners

2022 Sifan Ye, Ting Wu, Michael Jarvis, and Yuhao Zhu (Stanford University, eBay Inc., and University of Rochester) for their work on  "Digital reconstruction of Elmina Castle for mobile virtual reality via point-based detail transfer."
2021 Mark A. Livingston, Laura Matzen, Derek Brock, Andre Harrison, and Jonathan W. Decker (US Naval Research Laboratory, Sandia National Laboratories, and US Army Research Laboratory) for their work on  "Testing the value of salience in statistical graphs."
2020 Casey Haber and Robert Gove (Chartio and Two Six Labs) for their work on  "A visualization tool for analyzing the suitability of software libraries via their code repositories."
2019 Maggie Goulden, Eric Gronda, Yurou Yang, Zihang Zhang, Jun Tao, Chaoli Wang, Xiaojing Duan, G. Alex Ambrose, Kevein Abbott, and Patrick Miller (Trinity College Dublin, University of Maryland, Zhejiang University, and University of Notre Dame) for their work titled "CCVis: Visual analytics of student online learning behaviors using course clickstream data."
2018 Benjamin Karer, Inga Scheler, and Hans Hagen (University of Kaiserslautern) for their work on  "A step towards automatic visual analytics pipeline generation."
2017 Stefan Zellmann, Mauritius Hoevels, and Ulrich Lang (University of Cologne and University Hospital of Cologne) for their work titled "Ray traced volume clipping using multi-hit BVH traversal."
2016 Kaiyu Zhao, Matthew Ward, Elke Rundensteiner, and Huong Higgins (Worcester Polytechnic Institute) for their work on "MaVis: Machine learning aided multi-model framework for time series visual analytics."
2016 Best Paper
Kostas Pantazos and Soren Lauesen (IT University of Copenhagen) for their work on "End-user development in visualizations." Award accepted by Dimitris Pantazos.

2023 Committee

Conference Chairs

Yi-Jen Chiang, New York University (United States)
David L. Kao, NASA Ames Research Center (United States)
Thomas Wischgoll, Wright State University (United States)

Program Committee

Madjid Allili, Bishop's University (Canada)
Wes Bethel, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (United States)
Abon Chaudhuri, Robinhood (United States)
Guoning Chen, University of Houston System (United States)
Hank Childs, University of Oregon (United States)
Sussan Einakian, California Polytechnic State University (United States)
Ulrich Engelke, CSIRO (Australia)
Christina Gillmann, University of Leipzig (Germany)
Matti Gröhn, Glue Collaboration (Finland)
Christopher G. Healey, North Carolina State University (United States)
Mario Hlawitschka, Leipzig University of Applied Sciences (Germany)
Ming Jiang, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (United States)
Andreas Kerren, Linnaeus University (Sweden)
Peter Lindstrom, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (United States)
Zhanping Liu, Old Dominion University (United States)
Aidong Lu, The University of North Carolina at Charlotte (United States)
Theresa-Marie Rhyne, Computer Graphics and E-Learning (United States)
René Rosenbaum, meeCoda (Germany)
Inga Scheler, Technische Universität Kaiserslautern (Germany)
Christopher Shaw, Simon Fraser University Surrey (Canada)
Kalpathi Subramanian, The University of North Carolina at Charlotte (United States)
Shigeo Takahashi, The University of Aizu (Japan)
Shyh-Kuang Ueng, National Taiwan Ocean University (Taiwan)
Hsu-Chun Yen, National Taiwan University (Taiwan)
Eugene Zhang, Oregon State University (United States)
Leishi Zhang, Middlesex University London (United Kingdom)

No content found

No content found

No content found