EI2018 Banner

  28 January - 2 February, 2018 • Burlingame, California USA

Preliminary Program

Visualization and Data Analysis 2018

Conference Keywords:  Visual and Data Analytics, Visualization, Human Factors, Data Mining, Virtual and Augmented Reality, Cyber-security. 

Learn more—Conference At-a-Glance and List of Short Course associated with VDA topics:
Conference Flyer

No content found

The Conference on Visualization and Data Analysis (VDA) 2018 covers all research and development and application aspects of data visualization and visual analytics. Since the first VDA conference was held in 1994, the annual event has grown steadily into a major venue for visualization researchers and practitioners from around the world to present their work and share their experiences. We invite you to participate by submitting your original research as a full paper, for an oral or interactive (poster) presentation, and attending VDA 2018 at the Hyatt Regency San Francisco Airport in Burlingame, CA.

Please note the three submission options for this year’s conference:
  1. Journal-first submission option: Authors have the option to submit their papers directly to the Journal of Imaging Science and Technology. If accepted, the paper will be presented at the VDA conference and be published in the Journal of Imaging Science and Technology with a reprint of the paper in the EI 2018 VDA Proceedings.
  2. Conference proceedings paper option: Authors who wish to work toward publication of a proceedings paper may submit a 6-12 page full paper draft for Program Committee review.
  3. Presentation-only option: Authors who wish to present their results at the conference without writing a paper may submit a 500- to 1000-word abstract. This option allows for “late-breaking” news/results.

No content found

No content found

Important Dates
Call for Papers Announced 1 Mar 2017
Review Abstracts Due (refer to For Authors page)
· Regular Submission Ends 15 Aug 2017
· Late Submission Ends  10 Sept 2017
Registration Opens
Now Open
Hotel Reservation Deadline
12 Jan 2018
Early Registration Ends 8 Jan 2018
Conference Starts 28 Jan 2018 

View 2018 Proceedings
View 2017 Proceedings
View 2016 Proceedings

Conference Chairs
Thomas Wischgoll, Wright State University (United States); Song Zhang, Mississippi State University (United States); David Kao, NASA Ames Research Center (United States); Yi-Jen Chiang, New York University (United States)

Program Committee
Madjid Allili, Bishop's University (Canada); Abon Chaudhuri, WalmartLabs (United States); Guoning Chen, University of Houston (United States); Joseph Cottam, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory (United States); Sussan Einakian, California Polytechnic State University (United States); John Gerth, Stanford University (United States); Matti Gröhn, Finnish Institute of Occupational Health (Finland); Christopher G. Healey, North Carolina State University (United States); Mario Hlawitschka, University of Leipzig (Germany); Ming Jiang, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (United States); Alark Joshi, University of San Francisco (United States); Andreas Kerren, Linnaeus University (Sweden); Peter Lindstrom, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (United States); Lars Linsen, Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster (Germany); Zhanping Liu, Old Dominion University (United States); Aidong Lu, University of North Carolina at Charlotte (United States); G. Elisabeta Marai, University of Illinois at Chicago (United States); Donald Pellegrino, The Dow Chemical Co. (United States); Theresa-Marie Rhyne, Computer Graphics and E-Learning (United States); René Rosenbaum, meeCoda (Germany); Jibonananda Sanyal, Oak Ridge National Laboratory (United States); Pinaki Sarder, University of Buffalo (United States); Graig Sauer, Towson University (United States); Inga Scheler, Technische University Kaiserslautern (Germany); Tobias Schreck, Graz University of Technology (Austria); Jürgen Schulze, University of California, San Diego (United States); Chad Steed, Oak Ridge National Laboratory (United States); Kalpathi Subramanian, University of North Carolina at Charlotte (United States); Shigeo Takahashi, University of Aizu (Japan); Chaoli Wang, Michigan Technological University (United States); Tino Weinkauf, Royal Institute of Technology (Sweden); Leishi Zhang, Middlesex University London (United Kingdom)