13 - 17  January, 2019 • Burlingame, California USA

Call for Papers

Mobile Devices and Multimedia: Enabling Technologies, Algorithms, and Applications (on sabbatical in 2019)

Conference Keywords: Multimedia, Mobile Devices, Cybersecurity and Forensics, Imaging, Internet of Things

Symposium-wide Call for Papers 
Mobile Devices and Multimedia: Enabling Technologies, Algorithms, and Applications 2019 Call for Papers 

Topics related to this conference will be discussed in the Imaging and Multimedia Analytics in a Web and Mobile World 2019 Conference.

Symposium-wide Themes for EI 2019

Submissions that address mobile device imaging in the 2019 themes are welcome.

  • 3D Imaging
  • Autonomous vehicles
  • Augmented, virtual, and mixed reality imaging

Prospective Joint Sessions

Submissions that address mobile device imaging in the following areas are welcome:

  • HMI (human machine interface)
  • Medical / diagnostic imaging
  • Multi-sensor fusion

Conference Topics

See the Overview tab and Topics tab above. Submissions within the scope of this technical content are welcome.


  • Best Paper Award
  • Best Student Paper Award

Ways to Submit

There are two options for submission; please read the descriptions carefully. Note: This conference DOES NOT accept submissions designated for presentation-only. 

  1. Presentation at the conference and publication in the conference proceedings. This is the most common option, and if accepted may be assigned either an oral or interactive (poster) presentation.Submit a 4-6 page draft proceedings paper with optional figures using the symposium template  
  2. JIST-first. Expedited review and publication in the Journal of Imaging Science and Technology [SCI/EI-indexed] before the conference, oral presentation at the conference, and inclusion in the conference proceedings. To meet the publication timeline, successful JIST-first submissions must require only minor revisions in response to peer-review. Those not meeting this stringent standard are automatically re-considered for presentation at the conference and publication in the proceedings (option 1 above). Author instructions for journal submissions  

Final Manuscript Deadline

Final manuscripts (typically 4-6 pages) submitted in correct form by 14 November 2018 will be fast-tracked online as of the opening day of EI 2019. Manuscripts submitted or corrected after that date will be published after EI 2019 in the complete conference proceedings. All manuscripts are due, in corrected form, by 1 February 2019.

No content found

No content found


Important Dates
Call for Papers Announced 1 Mar 2018
Journal-first Submissions Due 30 Jun 2018
Abstract Submission Site Opens  1 May 2018
Review Abstracts Due (refer to For Authors page)
 · Early Decision Ends 30 Jun 2018
· Regular Submission Ends  8 Sept 2018
· Extended Submission Ends  25 Sept 2018
 Final Manuscript Deadlines  
 · Fast Track Manuscripts Due  14 Nov 2018 
 · Final Manuscripts Due 1 Feb 2019 
Registration Opens 1 Oct 2018
Early Registration Ends 14 Dec 2018
Hotel Reservation Deadline 21 Dec 2018
Conference Begins 13 Jan 2019

View 2018 Proceedings
View 2017 Proceedings
View 2016 Proceedings

Conference Chairs
David Akopian, The University of Texas at San Antonio (United States); Reiner Creutzburg, Technische Hochschule Brandenburg (Germany)

Program Committee
John Adcock, FX Palo Alto Labororatory Inc. (United States); Sos Agaian, The University of Texas at San Antonio (United States); Faouzi Alaya Cheikh, Norwegian University of Science and Technology (Norway); Noboru Babaguchi, Osaka University (Japan); Nina Bhatti, Kokko Inc. (United States); C.L. Philip Chen, University of Macau (Macao); Chang Wen Chen, The State University of New York at Buffalo (United States); Matthew Cooper, FX Palo Alto Laboratory (United States); Kenneth Crisler, Motorola, Inc. (United States); Francesco De Natale, University degli Studi di Trento (Italy); Alberto Del Bimbo, University degli Studi di Firenze (Italy); Stefan Edlich, Technische Fachhochschule Berlin (Germany); Atanas Gotchev, Tampere University of Technology (Finland); Alan Hanjalic, Technische University Delft (Netherlands); Alexander Hauptmann, Carnegie Mellon University (United States); Winston Hsu, National Taiwan University (Taiwan); Gang Hua, Stevens Institute of Technology (United States); Catalin Lacatus, Qualcomm Technologies, Inc. (United States); Xin Li, West Virginia University (United States); Qian Lin, HP Inc. (United States); Gabriel Marcu, Apple Inc. (United States); Vasileios Mezaris, Informatics and Telematics Institute (Greece); Chong-Wah Ngo, City University of Hong Kong (China); Sethuraman Panchanathan, Arizona State University (United States); Kari Pulli, Meta Company (United States); Yong Rui, Microsoft Corporation (China); Olli Silvén, University of Oulu (Finland); John Smith, IBM Thomas J. Watson Research Center (United States); Hari Sundaram, Arizona State University (United States); Jarmo Takala, Tampere University of Technology (Finland); Marius Tico, Apple, Inc. (United States); Meng Wang, National University of Singapore (Singapore); Rong Yan, Facebook Inc. (United States); Jun Yang, Facebook Inc. (United States)