13 - 17  January, 2019 • Burlingame, California USA

Call for Papers

Image Sensors and Imaging Systems 2019

Conference Keywords: Image Sensors, Imaging Systems, Smart Image Sensors, ADC and other Image Sensor Blocks, Photodiodes, Pixels, and Processes

IMSE Conference Website
Symposium-wide Call for Papers 
Image Sensors and Imaging Systems 2019 Call for Papers 

In Memoriam: Arnaud Darmont

Symposium-wide Themes for EI 2019

Submissions that address sensing aspects in the 2019 themes are welcome.

  • 3D Imaging
  • Autonomous vehicles
  • Augmented, virtual, and mixed reality imaging

Prospective Joint Sessions

Submissions that address sensing aspects in the following areas are welcome:

  • Color 
  • HDR imaging and displays
  • Light field imaging
  • Medical / diagnostic imaging
  • Multi-sensor fusion
  • Scientific imaging

Conference Topics

See the Overview tab and Topics tab above. Submissions within the scope of this technical content are welcome. Additional information is available on the Image Sensors website.

Conference Events and Connections

The Image Sensors and Imaging Systems Conference will host a conference dinner and several outstanding keynote speakers. In addition, the EI 2019 Short Course offerings include several courses related to this conference.


A best paper award will be given to a submission that demonstrates outstanding research or provides a breakthrough in imaging technology.

  • Best Paper Award

IMSE and PMII Joint Review

All papers submitted to either the Image Sensors and Imaging Systems Conference or the Photography,Mobile, and Immersive Imaging Conference will be reviewed together by both committees and joint sessions will be organized between the two conferences.

Submission Requirements:

The status of the work is required to be described in the submitted structured abstract, specifically whether the work is: a) a new idea, b) a new idea with a patent filed or pending, c) finished research with results or preliminary results, or d) a commercial product or planned to shortly become a commercial product.

Ways to Submit

There are three options for submission; please read the descriptions carefully.

  1. Presentation at the conference and publication in the conference proceedings. This is the most common option, and if accepted may be assigned either an oral or interactive (poster) presentation. Submit a 4-6 page draft proceedings paper with optional figures using the symposium template  
  2. Presentation-only. Oral presentation at the conference, but no publication of work in the conference proceedings. Submit a 500-word short abstract 
  3. JIST-first. Expedited review and publication in the Journal of Imaging Science and Technology [SCI/EI-indexed] before the conference, oral presentation at the conference, and inclusion in the conference proceedings. To meet the publication timeline, successful JIST-first submissions must require only minor revisions in response to peer-review. Those not meeting this stringent standard are automatically re-considered for presentation at the conference and publication in the proceedings (option 1 above). Author instructions for journal submissions  

Final Manuscript Deadline

Final manuscripts (typically 4-6 pages) submitted in correct form by 14 November 2018 will be fast-tracked online as of the opening day of EI 2019. Manuscripts submitted or corrected after that date will be published after EI 2019 in the complete conference proceedings. All manuscripts are due, in corrected form, by 1 February 2019.

No content found

No content found

No content found


Important Dates
Call for Papers Announced 1 Mar 2018
Journal-first Submissions Due 30 Jun 2018
Abstract Submission Site Opens  1 May 2018
Review Abstracts Due (refer to For Authors page)
 · Early Decision Ends 30 Jun 2018
· Regular Submission Ends  8 Sept 2018
· Extended Submission Ends  25 Sept 2018
 Final Manuscript Deadlines  
 · Fast Track Manuscripts Due  14 Nov 2018 
 · Final Manuscripts Due 1 Feb 2019 
Registration Opens 1 Oct 2018
Early Registration Ends 14 Dec 2018
Hotel Reservation Deadline 21 Dec 2018
Conference Begins 13 Jan 2019

View 2018 Proceedings
View 2017 Proceedings
View 2016 Proceedings

Conference Chairs
Arnaud Darmont, APHESA SPRL (Belgium); Arnaud Peizerat, Commissariat à l’Énergie Atomique (France); Ralf Widenhorn, Portland State University (United States)

Program Committee
Nick Bulitka, Lumenera Corp. (Canada); Calvin Chao, Taiwan Semiconductor Manufacturing Company (TSMC) (Taiwan); Glenn Chapman, Simon Fraser University (Canada); Tobi Delbrück, Institute of Neuroinformatics, University of Zurich and ETH Zurich (Switzerland); James DiBella, Imperx (United States); Antoine Dupret, Commissariat à l’Énergie Atomique (France); Boyd Fowler, Omnivision Technologies, Inc. (United States); Eiichi Funatsu, OmniVision Technologies, Inc. (United States); Rihito Kuroda, Tohoku University (Japan); Kevin Matherson, Microsoft Corporation (United States); Clemenz Portmann, Google Inc. (United States); Min-Woong SeoSamsung Electronics, Semiconductor R&D Center (Republic of Korea); Gilles Sicard, Commissariat à l'Énergie Atomique (France); Nobukazu Teranishi, University of Hyogo (Japan); Jean-Michel Tualle, Université Paris 13 (France); Orly Yadid-Pecht, University of Calgary (Canada); Xinyang Wang, GPIXEL (China)