EI2018 Banner

  28 January - 1 February, 2018 • Burlingame, California USA

Call for Papers

Mobile Devices and Multimedia: Enabling Technologies, Algorithms, and Applications 2018

Conference Keywords:  Multimedia, Mobile Devices, Cybersecurity and Forensics, Imaging, Internet of Things

See Overview and Topics tabs for details on technical content and solicited topics.


  • Best Paper Award
  • Best Student Paper Award

Ways to Submit

There are two options for submission; please read the descriptions carefully. Note: This conference DOES NOT accept submissions designated for presentation-only. 

  1. Presentation at the conference and publication in the conference proceedings. This is the most common option, and if accepted may be assigned either an oral or interactive (poster) presentation.Submit a 4-6 page draft proceedings paper with optional figures using the symposium template  
  2. JIST-first. Expedited review and publication in the Journal of Imaging Science and Technology (JIST) before the conference, oral presentation at the conference, and inclusion in the conference proceedings. To meet the publication timeline, successful JIST-first submissions must require only minor revisions in response to peer-review. Those not meeting this stringent standard are automatically re-considered for presentation at the conference and publication in the proceedings (option 1 above). Author instructions for journal submissions  

Final Manuscript Deadline

The final manuscript is due 10 January 2018. The proceedings will be published after the conference.

No content found

No content found

Important Dates
Call for Papers Announced 1 Mar 2017
Review Abstracts Due (refer to For Authors page)
· Regular Submission Ends 15 Aug 2017
· Late Submission Ends  10 Sept 2017
Registration Opens
Coming Soon
Hotel Reservation Deadline
5 Jan 2018
Early Registration Ends 8 Jan 2018
Conference Starts 28 Jan 2018 

View 2017 Proceedings
View 2016 Proceedings
Conference Chairs
David Akopian, The University of Texas at San Antonio (United States); Reiner Creutzburg, Technische Hochschule Brandenburg (Germany)

Program Committee
John Adcock, FX Palo Alto Labororatory Inc. (United States); Sos Agaian, The University of Texas at San Antonio (United States); Faouzi Alaya Cheikh, Norwegian University of Science and Technology (Norway); Noboru Babaguchi, Osaka University (Japan); Nina Bhatti, Kokko Inc. (United States); C.L. Philip Chen, University of Macau (Macao); Chang Wen Chen, The State University of New York at Buffalo (United States); David Cook, Consultant (Namibia); Matthew Cooper, FX Palo Alto Laboratory (United States); Kenneth Crisler, Motorola, Inc. (United States); Francesco De Natale, University degli Studi di Trento (Italy); Alberto Del Bimbo, University degli Studi di Firenze (Italy); Stefan Edlich, Technische Fachhochschule Berlin (Germany); Atanas Gotchev, Tampere University of Technology (Finland); Alan Hanjalic, Technische University Delft (Netherlands); Alexander Hauptmann, Carnegie Mellon University (United States); Winston Hsu, National Taiwan University (Taiwan); Gang Hua, Stevens Institute of Technology (United States); Catalin Lacatus, Qualcomm Technologies, Inc. (United States); Xin Li, West Virginia University (United States); Qian Lin, HP Inc. (United States); Gabriel Marcu, Apple Inc. (United States); Vasileios Mezaris, Informatics and Telematics Institute (Greece); Chong-Wah Ngo, City University of Hong Kong (China); Sethuraman Panchanathan, Arizona State University (United States); Kari Pulli, Meta Company (United States); Yong Rui, Microsoft Corporation (China); Olli Silvén, University of Oulu (Finland); John Smith, IBM Thomas J. Watson Research Center (United States); Hari Sundaram, Arizona State University (United States); Jarmo Takala, Tampere University of Technology (Finland); Marius Tico, Apple, Inc. (United States); Meng Wang, National University of Singapore (Singapore); Rong Yan, Facebook Inc. (United States); Jun Yang, Facebook Inc. (United States)