EI Scientist of the Year

This award is given annually at the EI Symposium to a member of the electronic imaging community who who has demonstrated excellence and commanded the respect of his/her peers by making significant and substantial contributions to the field of electronic imaging via research, publications, or service.

Recipients by year

2019: Amnon Shashua, Mobileye, an Intel company  (USA) for his pivotal contributions to computer vision and machine learning, and for advancing autonomous driving and wearable assistive devices for the blind and visually-impaired.
Avideh ZakhorUniversity of California at Berkeley  (USA) for significant contributions to signal processing, including 3D image processing & computer vision; 3D reality capture systems; 3D modeling, mapping and positioning; and image and video compression and communication.
2017: Gordon Wetzstein, Stanford University  (USA) for pioneering contributions to electronic imaging in the areas of computational light field and near-eye display technologies.
2016: Michael A. Kriss, MAK Consultants  (USA) for significant scientific contributions and leadership during the transition from analog to digital imaging, as well as tremendous service to the electronic imaging community.
2015 (two winners): Edward J. Delp, Purdue University (USA) for contributions in the areas of multimedia security and image and video compression AND Majid Rabbani, Eastman Kodak Company (USA) for fundamental contributions to image compression, and for more than 25 years of sharing this knowledge through courses taught at EI.
2014: Charles A. Bouman, Purdue University (USA) for lasting contributions to document imaging and to medical imaging.
2013:  Sabine Süsstrunk, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (Switzerland) for seminal contributions to color imaging, computational photography, and image analysis.
2012: Albert Theuwissen, Harvest Imaging (Belgium) for seminal contributions to the electronic imaging community in the fields of solid-state image capturing and advanced image sensors.
2011: Alan C. Bovik, University of Texas at Austin (USA) for seminal contributions to the computational aspects of biological visual perception, specifically in the areas of image and video quality.
2010: C.-C. Jay Kuo, University of Southern California (USA)for seminal contributions to signal processing theory and applications in the areas of image processing and compression, higher-order statistics, fuzzy logic and artificial neural networks.
2009: Morley M. Blouke, Ball Aerospace & Technologies Corp. (USA) for seminal contribution to the field of Electronic Imaging, specifically in the areas of image sensors, focal plane arrays, and CCD technology.
2008: James Janesick, Sarnoff Corp. (USA) for outstanding service and significant contributions to the electronic imaging community in the area of CCD and CMOs sensors.
2007: Brian A. Wandell, Stanford Univ. (USA)
for pioneering contributions in the education, research, and application of imaging science. His leadership and innovation in the fields of human color vision, digital photographic systems analysis, and computational neuroimaging have motivated colleagues and students from a diverse array of imaging fields to redefine the frontiers -of imaging science and technology.
2006: Thomas S. Huang, Beckman Institute for Advanced Science and Technology, Univ. of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (USA) 
2005: Justin Maki, Jet Propulsion Lab (USA)  
2004: Jan P. Allebach, Purdue Univ. (USA)
for his leadership as an educator and researcher in the electronic imaging community, for his contributions to image halftoning, color image processing, and the use of our understanding of the human visual system in image processing.
2003: Murat KuntÉcole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (Switzerland)  
2002: Semir Zeki, Wellcome Dept. of Cognitive Neurology, Univ. College London (United Kingdom)  
2001: Larry Hornbeck, Texas Instruments, Inc. (USA)
2000: Yoichi Miyake, Chiba Univ. (Japan)   
1999: George Cacioppo, Adobe Systems, Inc. (USA)  
1998: Leonardo Chiariglione, CSELT/Telecom Italia (Italy)   

No content found